Naismaith Names Three Huskies

Associate Editor
Posted Nov 10, 2004

Juniors Barbara Turner (Cleveland, Ohio), Ann Strother (Castle Rock, Colo.) and senior Jessica Moore (Palmer, Alaska) have been named to the preseason candidate list for the Naismith Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually to the national player of the year.

Barbara Turner is the Huskies’ top returning scorer after posting 13.7 ppg last season. The 2004 Preseason All-Big East choice led the conference as a sophomore in field goal percentage at .536. Turner is also listed as a preseason candidate for the Wade Trophy and the Wooden Award.

Ann Strother, also a first-team preseason All-Big East choice, enters her junior season just 232 points shy of 1,000 for her career. Strother was named to the All-Final Four Team the last two seasons. She averaged 11.0 ppg last season. Strother is the team’s top-returning 3-point shooter after draining 61 last season. She is also a preseason candidate for Wade Trophy and Wooden Award.

Jessica Moore, also listed among Wade Trophy Preseason candidates, was UConn’s leader on the boards during its national championship season with a team-best 7.1 rebounds per game. Moore posted a scoring average of 9.5 ppg while shooting a solid .618 from the field. The senior enters her final collegiate campaign following off-season surgery to repair a torn anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) in her knee suffered during the 2004 NCAA National Championship Game.

The top-50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its preseason criteria on player performances from last season.

In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its pre-season list to the top-30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

Three previous UConn players have been recognized as the Naismith National Player of the Year a total of four times, including each of the last three season. Diana Taurasi captured the award in 2004 and 2003, while Sue Bird claimed the honor in 2002. Rebecca Lobo (1995) was the first Husky to be named Naismith National Player of the Year.

Related Stories
UConn finally gets it together
 -by  Mar 10, 2005
UConn Sweet 16 Preview
 -by  Mar 24, 2005
Pre-UConn Quotes
 -by  Mar 27, 2005

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
C Jessica Moore (profile)
G Ann Strother (profile)
G Barbara Turner (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Basketball > Colony HS > Alumni
Basketball > Connecticut
Basketball > East Technical HS > Alumni
Basketball > Highlands Ranch HS > Alumni
[View My HotList]